Sunday, September 13, 2009


Four students attending Canadian universities are the winners of this year's Canadian Association for Studies in Co-operation (CASC) scholarships, administered by the Canadian Co-operative Association (CCA).

Marcelo Vieta, a PhD candidate at York University, is the winner of the $3,000 Amy and Tim Dauphinee Scholarship, established by the Ontario Credit Union Charitable Foundation. Mr. Vieta is conducting research on worker co-operatives in Argentina. He is also a member of the Southern Ontario Social Economy Community University Research Node, working on a project on social economy initiatives in Latin America.

Wassila Merkouche Tir, a Master's student at HEC Montréal, won the $1,000 Alexander Fraser Laidlaw Fellowship to support her research on outreach to multicultural entrepreneurs by a Desjardins caisse populaire. The Laidlaw Fellowship was established by the Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada.

John McNamara and Andrew McLeod, both students in the Masters of Management - Co-operatives and Credit Unions program at St. Mary's University, will each receive a $1,000 Lemaire Co-operative Studies Award, which is aimed at students who are active in the co-operative sector. Mr. McNamara is looking into how co-operative management theory translates into practice through a study of Union Cab, a worker co-op in Madison, Wisconsin. Mr. McLeod is researching co-operative food systems, including producer, distribution and consumer co-operatives.

In addition to the scholarship money, the award winners will each receive a free membership in CASC and free registration at the 2010 CASC conference, which will be held at Concordia University in Montreal next spring.

No comments: